Book Tour: THE ADOPTION, by Jenna Kernan

I’m thrilled to share my thoughts on The Adoption, as part of the book tour hosted by Bookouture. Thank you for sending me an advance copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

My other book reviews and blogs can be viewed here.

Tour poster for The Adoption

Synopsis

Your little girl is all yours… isn’t she?

Dani and her husband Tate’s life together is almost perfect. But Dani is haunted by guilt for causing a terrible car accident that left her unable to have children. She can’t remember why she was driving so fast that day or where she was going. Her therapist says she should try to move on.

So when their application to adopt is accepted, Dani sobs with joy. As perfect little Willow nestles in her arms, Dani looks at Tate’s loving smile and knows he will always provide for his family, no matter what.

When Dani sees a woman staring as she pushes Willow’s stroller around the safe, gated Florida community where they live, she tells herself it’s simply an admiring passer-by. After all, Dani herself used to watch the local moms and wish she was in their shoes.

But when Dani wakes in the night to find Willow’s crib empty, their perfect life becomes a nightmare. In her frantic distress for her daughter, Dani’s memories of the accident flash through her mind. And with a jolt she realises: everyone around her has been lying about that day.

Will Dani find out the truth before it’s too late for her baby girl?

Or will facing her own dark secrets tear them all apart?

My Review

I could feel the sinister vibes coming off this book within two chapters, which made it all the more compelling. There was a real sense of tension, horror, and deception. As someone who is open about my struggles with mental health, I appreciated the way the subject was handled in a sensitive manner.

What a set of characters! Dani, recently returned home from the psychiatric hospital where she has lived for six months, now with a medical condition that prevents her recognising anyone’s faces. Then there is her husband Tate, who I had pegged as a wrong’un from the start. At first I thought he was gas-lighting her and using her for her inheritance. The truth became more sinister. I just could not bring myself to like him.

I cannot say too much without ruining your pleasure of reading this book. An original plot with twists aplenty, and that wealth of characters, all of whom made the story more enjoyable and compelling. Would I recommend this book? Yes, of course for any readers of mysteries, and psychological thrillers. I gave The Adoption, by Jenna Kernan, four stars.

Meet The Author                           

I was born in the Leatherstocking Region of Upstate New York but a job offer brought me down from the mountains to the Hudson Valley just north of New York City where I lived and worked for thirty years, all the while writing when I could.  In 2015, I left that position to write full-time.

The fun stuff is getting out and meeting readers and authors. Going to industry parties and lunching with editors and agents. I have to admit all these adventures feel a little like Cinderella time – you know, the hours between 8 and Midnight, which are not remotely like the other twenty hours of the day. Meeting my readers really is the best part of my job.

I’m an outdoors kind of gal. So, if you can do it outside, I usually enjoy it, with the notable exception of golf (too organized and too frustrating) and skiing (too dangerous and too dangerous). I’m a rock hound, fossil hunter, and gold prospector.

What’s my best find? The fossilized bear tooth, some nice gold nuggets and a one carat blue sapphire I found in Montana.

In 2016, my husband and I moved to sunny Florida where I am pursuing my writing within the sound of the surf.

Jenna Kernan

About The Book

ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09V3B7LZP
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Bookouture (11 May 2022)
Language ‏ : ‎ English
File size ‏ : ‎ 1591 KB
Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled

Audiobook Listening Length : 12 hours and 16 minutes
Narrator : Laurence Bouvard
Whispersync for Voice : Ready
Audible.co.uk Release Date : 11 May 2022
Publisher : Hachette UK – Bookouture
Version : Unabridged
ASIN : B09Z749Y2B

Where To Buy

For print copies, please consider supporting your local bookshops. To purchase online, follow the links below:

Published by JL Dixon

Writer and avid reader. Contact me for reviews, book tours, proofing, and Beta reads. All reviews are honest and my own opinion. All mistakes are my own 🤦

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started