Books, and a Book Conga

In the last week, I’ve read some great books, here are my top 3. First was CALL TO Kill, by Billy Billingham, of ‘SAS: Who Dares Wins’ fame. His extensive experience in the SAS lends authenticity to every action scene. You can read my review here.

I followed up with EVERY LITTLE BREATH, by Keri Beevis. This edge-of-your-seat, compelling, book spans 15 years following a young woman’s discovery of a horrific scene of turture, and the aftermath. My review is here.

My last read of the week was LITTLE GIRL MISSING, by J. G. Roberts. How would you feel if your five year old daughter was missing from your home, on the morning after you took a sleeping tablet? Read my review here.

These are some of the best books I’ve read so far in 2021, and I recommend each of them to you.

Talking about books (nice link), an independent, community-run, book shop in Southampton, has been forced to move to different premises. October Books began moving their collection of books to a new shop, about 150 metres away.

The first 2,000 books were conveyed the 150 metres distance to the new shop in just one hour. That’s around 33 books per minute. That’s impressive. What’s more impressive is that the books were shuttled by a human chain of 250 volunteers from the local community. October Books volunteer Clair Diaper described seeing them all working together to help the shop as ’emotional’.

The new premises, partly funded by local investors, has three floors. The 1st and 2nd being rented out to local community projects such as local homeless charity Society for St James, while October Books will span the ground floor.

What’s clear here is the community came together to help each other out. I’m sure there are other occasions where they rally around one another in times of need. We could do with a whole lot more of that right now, to follow the example of the community on Portswood Road.

I doff my cap to them.

Published by JL Dixon

Writer and avid reader. Contact me for reviews, book tours, proofing, and Beta reads. All reviews are honest and my own opinion. All mistakes are my own 🤦

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started