Book covers

I remember way back, when they changed the covers of the Harry Potter books half way through the series, including an adult cover, and everyone felt compelled to go back out and buy the new designs so they all matched on the bookshelf.

To gain her BA degree, Kincsö Nagy from Denmark,  completely redesigned the whole series of book covers. They look amazing, they are beautifully illustrated within, and the covers glow in the dark!  JUST SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY!

I note the article is 7 years old though, so I must ask the question, why on earth haven’t they been snapped up by publisher Bloomsbury? They are publishing new versions coming out soon of the series, apparently with 150 illustrations by Mina Lima within (Chamber of Secrets retailing at £28.80 online).

I think I prefer Kincsö’s version personally.

That brings me on to my reading habits. I love a good crime thriller, and am expanding to Sci-fi, and some fantasy/ghostie (read my previous post) books. On many of the Instagram pages I follow, I see numerous recommendations to read A Court of Silver Flames, by Sarah J Maas. I knew of other book in the series, and me being me, I’m now compelled to read the previous four books first. They are very highly recommended, with positive reviews from the vast majority of reader’s. I’ll get to them while I continue to read the ARCs awaiting review from NetGalley or authors.

One question though: Why did they go and completely redesign the covers before releasing the fifth book? I mean, it’s nice and all, but…

Published by JL Dixon

Writer and avid reader. Contact me for reviews, book tours, proofing, and Beta reads. All reviews are honest and my own opinion. All mistakes are my own 🤦

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started