Advanced Reader Copy

I’m so pumped right now. One of my favourite authors Angela Marsons, will be releasing the 14th installment in the DI Kim Stone series, entitled Twisted Lies, on 14 May 2021. This is one of the best series of books I’ve read, and rate it up with Jack Reacher, Temperance Brennan, and Hercule Poirot.

Kim Stone is steely, and while seemingly at first unfriendly, is determined, direct, fiercely loyal and protective of her team and friends, especially her Sergeant, Bryant, who was paired with her to help keep her level headed on the job.

She’s had to deal with serial killers, vengeful prisoners wanting payback, narcissists, and psychopaths, to name but a few, and her team of Bryant, Penn, and Stacey are right there with her. This team is a well oiled machine, working in harmony with each other. I’ve worked in teams like this, and they give you the extra motivation to get up in the morning. They’re more of a family, albeit one with grown up kids, all of whom carry handcuffs on a daily basis.

So anyway, I discovered Twisted Lies on NetGalley this evening. Amazing! Now for the difficult part, where I have to acknowledge that the publisher Bookouture, who I hope one day may publish my book, have never let me have an advanced reader copy (ARC) on Netgalley. I know my reviews ratio could improve and I’m working on that while I review books for other authors.

I may have tweeted something to the effect of my having requested an ARC of Twisted Lies while knowing Bookouture would undoubtedly turn me down again. But then an angel, or more accurately an Angela, of the Marsons type, commented on my tweet, and reached out to a lovely bookworm called Kim. The next thing I know, there’s a copy of Twisted Lies sitting on my NetGalley shelf. I shall never take Bookouture’s name in vain again, and promise to get this review done very soon. My heartfelt thanks to Angela and Kim. If you haven’t read any Angela Marsons before, visit my Book Reviews and find her on the authors page. You will thank me later.

Update: My review can be read here

Published by JL Dixon

Writer and avid reader. Contact me for reviews, book tours, proofing, and Beta reads. All reviews are honest and my own opinion. All mistakes are my own 🤦

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started